Kappu closes in on Hong Kong

Kappu closes in on Hong Kong

Typhoon Kappu hit tonight and this morning. It was a “Signal 8” warning with sustained winds at 38-73 mph and gusts up to 113 mph. I didn’t get much sleep because of the pounding winds against the window (which to my dad’s horror … I sleep right under!)

Suprisingly the schools don’t make 3 year old kiddies troddle through the wind/rain to learn their ABCs, so I got the day off! I even got to leave school early when the first warning came in, a signal 3. It was a rush taking the ferry home and then trying to make it to the store in time to get food/water because once it goes to the next step, signal 8 (i know, i know 3-8 doesn’t make sense) everything is shut down. It was signal 3 when I got out of work and even then the wind took my breath away! At one point I saw a man riding his bike and for every 3 laborous peddels he took, he only moved 2 feet.

